Testimonials

 
 
 
flipkey

RATED FIVE STAR  * * * * *

If you think La Chatouillette (La-Shaa-twee-et = ‘The Little Tickle’) sounds too good to be true check out some of our guest’s comments below.

Original testimonials can be viewed in our Guest Book.

 

fishing rods ,mist on lake
13-04-17 to 20-04-17 Margaret and Terry Guyton and Amanda and Martin Catchpole. Norfolk England.

Our holiday was primarily booked around fishing and this proved to be every bit as good as advertised. We all immediately commented on how quickly we felt relaxed in this little bit of paradise.
Cosy beds, cosy surroundings we ‘made camp’ at once.
Allan and Josie cannot do enough for you (like cooking our sausages in an emergency!) and a welcome gift of wine and eggs etc.
You must visit madam’s restaurant in GER – lunchtimes only with set menu where there is traditional French hospitality at very good value.(Our second visit proved equally as good.)
St Hilaire-du-Harcouet’s Wednesday market is busy and a good menu at La Mail opposite the church.
Fishing netted a total of 93 fish – so our men were very happy!
Thank you for sharing your ‘Normandy paradise’.

22-04-17 to 28-04-17 Norbert, Petra, Sanne and Bas Herremans.The Netherlands.

Thanks to you Allan and Josie. From the first second we arrived we already felt very welcome here. It’s very nice that you share you’re little paradise with other people. We enjoyed our stay very much and also Bas (13) and Sanne (15) really liked it here. For a family with teenagers La Chatouillette has got everything you need and more – a lake with beautiful Carp, table tennis, trampoline, pool table and so on. We also enjoyed the sunshine in your beautiful garden listening to all the birds singing. Almost every evening we encountered one of two deer during our walk through the gardens. Thanks Allan for taking us on an adventurous walk to the Roman bridge and thanks Josie for the fresh rhubarb. We really enjoyed it. And of course thanks for the pleasant conversations and the hospitality. We shall have to come back some time for more fishing … Sanne definitely wants to catch the Catfish.

We also enjoyed the beautiful Normandy surroundings with Mont Saint Michel as a special highlight.

03 -04-17 – 10-04-17 Tom, Daisy, Poppy and Charlotte Bowden, London.

Dear Allan and Josie, Thank you for a most relaxing and enjoyable week. The girls have adored being at La Chatouillette and especially your company (and that of the cat and the chickens!) Your recommendations for shopping and the markets were perfect and we have enjoyed some delicious food. I’ve also enjoyed my (semi) daily pedal to Barenton for supplies. Next time I’ll bring my road bike. Thank you again for taking so much trouble to make the holiday so enjoyable for everyone.

Message from Poppy … Charlotte and I really enjoyed feeding the chickens and fishing.

January 2017 Elisabetta Zucchi LA, California, USA

Thank you for such a relaxed filled time with you filled with epic dinners, conversations and walks.but mostly for your incredible generosity and caring. See you soon.

17 – 24th September 2016 Alan and Liane, Chelmsford, England.

JA fantastic week relaxing at a great location with the bonus of fine fishing. Who could ask for more!

Thank you for being great hosts.

01.09 – 05.09.16 Linell, Melissa and Kiara. Holland

Dear Allan and Josie, we had a wonderful time here and caught some great fish.

Thank you for your hospitality. We had a lovely week and hope to come back again. The gite was wonderful.

From Face book – translation from Dutch: 
“We had a very nice and successful fishing trip to La Chatouillette.
The family had a good time in a beautiful Gite next to the lake which is located on the spectacular estate owned by Allan and Josie.
We managed to land some great looking fish. In four days we caught 25 Carp weighing up to 12 kg.
We really enjoyed Nature, fishing and the hospitality of the hosts.
We can recommend it.”

20.08 – 27.08.16. Ian, Diane, Andy and Clare.

Another fabulous week with beautiful weather. Clare learned how to fish – nearly!

Peace, beauty and tranquility. Fishing great! See you next year!

August 2016. Dick Richards, Johannesburg, South Africa.

You have built La Chatouillette into a magnificent place, full of peace and love. Above all your hospitality was incredible which made our stay unforgettable.

25.08 – 27.08.16 Mark, Marianne and Eloise. Paris, France.

We have had a wonderful stay, boating on the lake was serene with the added excitement of finding plumb blackberries on the bank. Thank you for building river dams for Eloise. She loved jumping in the homemade paddling pools. A stunning environment and beautiful hosts make this a hard place to leave.

August 2016. Ali, Sash, Briar and Daniel. Malvern. England.

Another lovely visit. Thank you for a peaceful, happy time. Every visit just gets better The gardens improve year on year and the lake keeps on giving more. The hospitality is exceptional and you can’t help but feel at home.

20.07.16 – 30.07.16. Frank, Fransiena and Naomi (10 months old). Holland.

Bedankt voor jullie gastvryheid. We hebben hier heerlyk genoten en zyn heerlyk tot rust gekAmen in de schitterende omgeving. We hebben verschillende leuke uitstapjes gemaakt, waaronder het zwembad, dierentuRn en Utah Beach. Ook hebben we fantastische vissen gevangen, 50 in totaal. De karpers zyn in (goede) conditic. Het was een heerlyke vakantie onze dank daarvoor. Succes met vertalen.

15.07.16 – 20.07.16. Eddie and Desyia Davies. Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa.

Thank you Allan and Josie for making our stay so wonderful. We love the peace and quiet here and lovely chats over a glass or two of wine! Au Revoir.

09.07.06 -14.07.06. Matthew Ayly and Gaia Powell. London, UK.

What a beautiful and magical stay on my first visit to La Chatouillette.  Had a great time rowing La Gaia and listening to Allan’s wonderful singing, Lots of love, Matt.

Enjoyed a beautifully relaxing time with Allan and Josie. Such a beautiful setting with warm, hospitable hosts. Really enjoyed sitting on the pontoon listening to Allan’s music. Can’t wait to return! Gaia.

11.06.16 – 25.06.16. Alan and Kay Hassall, Pembrokeshire, West Wales.

As lovely as last year. Thank you Josie and Allan. The fish played ball with well over 700 lbs over two weeks. Used the krill to the island. Hope to be back next year.

04.06.16 – 11.06.16. Donna and Ken Taylor and Judith and Ashley Richardson, Staffordshire, England.

A very tranquil week was had by all. Thank you both for your hospitality.

14.05.16 – 21.05.16. Richard and Joyce Hannaford,Richmanworth, Herts, England.

Had a great week, the Gite and fishing was everything we hoped it would be and more! Allan and Josie are the perfect hosts and cannot do enough for you – sometimes going beyond the call of duty! Managed to catch 45 Carp, all fought hard and are in great condition. My best method was floating crust to the far bank. We’re going to miss it.

08.05.16 – 13.05.16 Mark – Zwolle, Holland.

It was a nice week. The place is very beautiful. The owners are very kind people. I landed about 40 fish this week, small ones and big ones and they all gave me a great fight.

“Zeker een aanrader, mij zien ze nog een keer terug.”
Plezierige avond verder.

.19.09.15 – 26.09.15. Rick and Patricia, Zwolle, Holland.

Our third time with Josie and Allan and like always it was very pleasant. Nature is slowly changing to Autumn and fishing was great with fish up to 14kg. September is a really good time to visit La Chatouillette. We are looking forward to coming again.

22.08.15 – 29.08.15. Maureen and Tom Wollard and Jackie and Malcolm Scales – Kent, England.

Our fourth visit and just as good as ever – like visiting friends! Fishing again met all expectations, unfortunately weather didn’t. However Allan and Josie promise better weather next year! Would recommend Hotel L’Abbaye for a lovely meal. ‘Bon chance!’ See you again.

08.08.15 – 22,08,15. Julie, Laurence, Michael (jnr), Sheila & Michael (snr)  – Birmingham, England.

Many, many thanks to Josie and Allan for making us truly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble in making our holiday relaxing and enjoyable. Succeeded in catching numerous large Carp on the fly – a life’s ambition! The lake, fish and surroundings are amazing! Thank you both

We all enjoyed La Chatouillette and it’s beautiful surroundings and saw a side of France that we never thought existed and hope to return one day . Thank you for your kind hospitality, help & advice and we hope it is not too long until we meet again.

Ps.. the Carp are as equally intriguing and stunning as La Chatouillette itself!

1 August – 8 August 2015 Guadagnin Family, Sheffield, England.

 Fantastic Gite, fantastic lake and great fishing! Beautiful grounds and surrounding areas. Allan and Josie welcoming and friendly. We will return! Thank you!

25 July – 1 August 2015 Stuart and Lindsay Froolsham, Cheshire, UK.

 Thank you once again Allan and Josie for being excellent hosts on our second stay at La Chatouillette. We’ve done lots of sight-seeing this time and have seem some beautiful places, following the ‘Route de la Baie’. We also covered the Botanical Gardens at Houte Belange – we’ve put the leaflet in the Information folder! Thank you again and hoefully we’ll be back for a third visit.

18 July – 25 July 2015 – Rian, Donna, Bethany and Abigail, Beckhill on Sea, England.

We had a very warm welcome from Josie and Allan … thank you. Beautiful surroundings. Visited a lot of places yet Mont St Maichel the best – highly recommended. Pont D’ Ouilly for canoeing/kayaking was lovely – Great time! Thank you so much for your warm hospitality x x x x … Oh yes … Rian enjoyed his fishing!

4 July – 18 July 2015 – Will and Dawn Reece, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire, England.

Our second trip here – Mortain has an outdoor pool only 4 Euros per adult and 2 Euros per child! Nice walks around the waterfalls and up the hill to small historic church overlooking the valley. The Fosse Arthur is also a great place for walks around the  lake and stream, rock climbing and great view points. Visited Mont St Michel, a good day out! At La Forte Mace there’s a very good English tearoom with a proper English breakfast! The cake shop in Barenton is very good and the Supermarket stocks all you need. From our Gite balcony we saw three deer including a fawn and Coypoo round the lake. Caught countless fish over 20 pounds. Brilliant holiday! Thanks again to Josie and Allan – lovely hosts.

21 June – 4 july 2015 – Shirley and Kevin Guest, Reading, Berkshire, England.

Another wonderful trip with great weather, peace and quiet in lovely surroundings. Great hosts. Fished every day caught 50 to 100 pounds of Carp per  day. Lots of upper double figure fish my biggest was 19 lb 8 oz. Average size 18 pounds. Plan to be back again!

14 -21 June 2015 – Ian and Diane Holt – Andy and Clare Holt, York, UK.

Lovely welcome on arrival. We’ve loved our stay. Don’t want to go home! Recommend L’ Lay Le Abbaye Hotel for an evening meal – beautiful food at a great price. ( Le Neufbourg)

Fishing was great. Lost count of how many Carp caught – biggest 21 pounds. Hooked the ‘cat’ – had him on the line for 20 minutes … got his head in the net then he gave one almighty thrash and he was gone! … dam!

a06 – 13 June 2015 Gary and Paula Parker, Ashford, Kent.

Thank you Allan and Josie for yet another very warm welcome! Not the best of weather but the best of times once again – relaxing and invigorating for us both, with the bonus of great fishing for Gary … and oh, my PB of 15  pounds – (my only unaided catch,) La Chatouillette has worked its magic again. We are leaving making plans for next time.

Wind in the East fish bite the best. Over 500 pounds of fish caught with my PB of 23 pounds.

 

24 -27 May 2015, Liz and Dave Wardell, Marsfield, Sydney, Australia.

We found a beautiful paradise after our long flight from Sydney. This is idyllic rural Europe with wonderful hospitality and every comfort. The garden is magnificent and the birdsong, including a Cuckoo, a pleasure to listen to. We hope to be back before too long.

1 May – 8 May 2015, Eileen and Colin, England.

Another restful and relaxing stay with Josie and Allan. We enjoyed the beauty of La Chatouillette. The grounds are so well cared for and many new plants have appeared since our last visit. Allan’s water garden is a relaxing place to sit and listen to the sounds of Nature and to recharge your soul. Thank you both for a wonderful week.

4 April – 14 April 2015, Anita, Vince, Zimmas and Kurt (the little dog)

I think we have lost track of time! I almost wrote the date as 1954! Never before has this man caught quite so many fish! Thank you for making us feel at home here on our first holiday anywhere other than Britain. It’s been very special and hopefully won’t be the last. Ten days go past too fast and we wish we didn’t have to go. Many thanks.

7 March – 19 March, George, Calin, Roxanna et Diana. Romania et UK.

From the moment I saw this place on the internet I knew we’d have our best holiday ever … and it honestly truly was. We spent a magical week in this piece of heaven. Thank you Allan and Josie for sharing it with us. You are the best hosts we’ve ever met. ‘Multumim din suflet!’

We were fishing for three days and caught eight carp the biggest was 22lbs. All were healthy and beautiful. Each one made us truly happy indeed.

lake view

9 Feb 2015 Jerome, Lisa Jorge et Katie.

Super bon weekend, calme, tranquil nous avons bien repose! Merci Josie et Allan.

2 Nov – 2014 9 Nov 2014, Gaia Powell, London, UK.

As always, a tranquil and calm stay. The beautiful surroundings are even more so on my second visit. I’ll take these fond memories of walks to La Petite Chapelle and Le Fosse Arthour home with me.

2 Nov 2014 Isi Ekehiwalu, Nantes, France.

Spent a magical few days in this beautiful pocket of Nature. Thank you so much Josie and Allan for the lovely warm welcome and for making me feel at home.

a la prochaine!

1 Nov 2014 Marie – Ange et Philippe, France.

Nous vivons au bold de la meme riviere et nous aimons la meme nature. Ce jut un plaisir de visiter votre jardin.

25 Oct – 1Nov 2014 Carol and Andrew Pigot, Carol and Graham Savage, England.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Gite has everything you need and is warm and welcoming. We couldn’t thank Josie and Allan enough for their helpfulness and will recommend coming here to our friends. Plenty of fish caught even for this time of the year. Best wishes from all.

13 – 20 September 2014 Peter and Jenny Meadows, Bishops Waltham, England.

This is our 9th visit and it is always a calm, tranquil and mostly rain free week. It was lovely to share Josie’s birthday with Pete. Thank you. Jenny.

Fishing still spot on! Cheers and keep happy. Pete.

05 – 13 September 2014 Martin, Barry and Brian, Birmingham, England.

What interesting hosts Josie and Allan are. Nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as special as it can be. The surroundings are so picturesque and relaxing. Our primary reason for visiting was the fishing and we had a super week with 1791 pounds between the three of us. All fish were fantastically conditioned, hard fighting Carp up to 25 pounds.

We found the most successful methods were single 15mm boilie in a method feeder. Boilies were sticky krill flavour, CC Moores – live system and Equinox. Also, floating bread crust worked well.

If you’re contemplating booking at La Chatouillette, do so quickly!!

17 -26 August 2014 Amanda, Peter, Pip and Jody, Oxfordshire, England.

We had an excellent time in this very comfortable Gite. Good walks at Fosse Arthour as well as good crepes – venue very close by. Lots of interesting places to visit – full of history! And, after each days busy sight seeing, village visiting or walking, great to have all the Gite facilities. Much use was made of the pool table, the table tennis and the Carp lake. Didn’t spend much time fishing but we all caught double figure fish. 

09 – 16 August 2014 Keith, Sally and Tim, England.

 An excellent weeks fishing in a tranquil and phone free environment. Great hosts – lots of information.  800 + pounds of Carp caught during the week, up to 20 pounds plus.

Ghost and Mirror Carp

02 August – 09 August 2914 – Will and Dawn, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire.

We have had a brilliant week. Allan and Josie are just lovely. They are first class hosts. Our biggest regret is coming for just one week.. It will be two next summer. The Gite is fantastic and has everything you need and the grounds are wonderful. We had numerous Carp from the lake in excess of 20 pounds. The woods and the river are very peaceful and we saw three deer. Take your time here, unwind, its an excellent place to relax. The local villages have all the facilities and are only a few minuets drive away. Go to the biscuit factory at Lonlay-l’ Abbaye, five minutes away and pick up some bargains! We should have bought more! Thank you Allan and Josie, we’re looking forward to coming back already.

26 July – 02 August 2014- Stuart and Lindsay, Cheshire, England.

Thank you Josie and Allan for a wonderful holiday and for being amazing hosts.

We’ve loved staying in your lovely Gite and thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Looking so forward to our return visit next year.

Stuart – ‘ You’ve spoilt us for choice. We’ll have great difficulty ever finding something like this again.

The fishing was amazing and the fish are healthy and plentiful.’

19 – 26 july 2014 Jackie and Malcolm – Maureen and Tom

Another great week – this is our third visit to this lovely place.

Visited Tuesday market at Villedien – les – Poles, was very good.

Had a great day out at La Lac de Rabodanges, trip on the lake. Good restaurant. Also at Domfront, enjoyed café St Julane.

Once again it has been a pleasure with Josie and Allan – great hosts.

We’re looking forward to next time!

22.07.14 Tristin and Alexander – Hereford UK.

A beautiful, peaceful and quiet interlude here (with amazing starry skies at night!) – a wonderful stop on our cycle tour of Brittany and Normandy along the ‘green ways.’  You always have a genuine and warm welcome. – Tristin. After a hard weeks cycle, arriving at La Chatouillette to the peaceful and beautiful surroundings was brilliant! A relaxing few days with top notch hospitality is all a cyclist needs. Alexander.

Cyclists infront at La Chatouillette

12.07.14 -19.07.14 Rick and Patricia from Holland.

Spending our holiday here with you was far above our expectations. The peaceful surroundings, the comfortable Gite, the fishing, your hospitality and your company made our holiday one we will never forget. Merci beaucoup Allan and Josie. We will keep in touch. Geweldig Genoten, love Patricia and Rick.

Rick~ Common Carp

28.06.14 – 12.07.14 Sandra and Mike Veninlore/ Lawrence and Frances Richardson, Sheffield, UK.

Fabulous place, nice people. Allan and Josie are very warm and welcoming. Mike has thoroughly enjoyed his daily fishing sessions with each fish getting bigger each time. Recommend the butcher in Barenton. Had a lovely meal at Le Relais de l’Abbaye nearby. Sad to be going home, just getting used to the area and the peacefulness of no phones.

18 – 24. 06.14 Denis and Scott, Nottingham, UK.

Just to say what a wonderful time we had at this Gite. Allan and Josie are great hosts. We were made very welcome. Had a lovely meal in a local restaurant, three courses for just E15.50 and very well cooked. Great weather, great fishing and great hosts. Thank you, we will be back.

14.06.14 Eddie and Dee, South Africa.

What a wonderfully peaceful place you have – a place for quiet reflection. We made new friends with the local people and have built such lovely memories. Thank you Allan and Josie, we’re sad to leave, A bientot!

07.06.14 Richard and Lee, Dover and Kent.

Beautiful setting and a lovely comfortable Gite. Very welcoming and friendly hosts with a wealth of interesting local information. We thoroughly enjoyed our daily fishing sessions with over 130 Carp caught over the week. Many thanks for a great week.

31.05.14  Gary, Shane and Matt, Ashford, Kent.

Mike and Matt’s first and Gary’s second visit here. A fantastic getaway, comfy gite, beautiful surroundings, fantastic fishing and wonderful hosts.

Our thanks to Allan and Josie for your kind hospitality, local information and history lessons.

It was a pleasure and we will be returning very soon.

24.05.14 Kevin and Shirley Guest, England.

Second time here now and we’ll be back again soon.

Lovely hosts in Josie and Allan. Beautiful place to spend a week.

Very peaceful. Fantastic fishing, lost count of the number caught on the first day!

Mum thoroughly enjoyed herself. All round a brilliant holiday.

16.05.14  Andrew, France.

Just visiting for the day but having seen the location, facilities and kindness of the hosts Allan and Josie we’d love to come and stay.

Polly from Bulgaria.

I had a fantastic time. Your place is a paradise.Thank you!

Euxapiczw! Eag euxapigzw!

06.07.13 – 13.07.13. John, Caroline, Jack and Arthur Sauvein, Brooke, Norfolk, U.K.

‘Lovely relaxing week and good weather. So many Carp caught, we gave up counting. Very good bistro meal a ‘Au bonvent’ in Mortain. We had the most expensive set menu at only 17.50 Euros – four courses, very good. Then an end of holiday treat at Auberge du Grand Gousier in Domfront – exquisite.

Your Gite is wonderful. The pool table and table tennis were very welcome – thank you very much!’

‘Carp weren’t fussy about hookbait. Simple blowback hook link and bait rig. Bigger hook, 6, picked out the larger fish. Zimm halibut pellets worked a treat.’

28.07.13 – 02.08.03. Matt Davis and Elizabeth Rutherford, Jacob and Eleanor Rutherford. Slourbridge, West Midlands, England.

‘As returning guests, a perfect setting for an engagement proposal. Many thanks to Josie and Allan for supportive words and helpful advice for Liz’s surprise! Another excellent and relaxing week. Visited the amazing local Abbey and Medieval Domfront. Thank you for sharing your bit of paradise and making it feel like our own.’

03.08.13 – 10.08.13. Darren, Nikki, Joe and James Bowskill, Loddington, Northhamptonshire, England.

‘Thank you Allan and Josie for a wonderful relaxing week. The Gite was beautiful and the fishing fantastic. You made us feel very welcome and allowed us to feel like the space was ours for the week. The boys enjoyed the fishing very much catching 136 Carp, totaling 1,533 lbs 5 oz! Both only used one rod each and caught their PB’s. Many thanks.’

10.08.13 – 17.08.13 – The Davey-Lute family, Herefordshire. England.

‘We’ve all enjoyed a lovely relaxing week, plenty for the children to do (ages 3 + 7), Loved exploring the river, woods and using the games room and trampoline. Recommend visiting Mont St Machel and a great beach at St-Pair-Sur- Mer, with sea pool. Fishing was good too, caught 95 fish totaling 1069 lbs. Thank you Allan and Josie, would definitely come again’.

From 18.08.13. Jane, Tristan and Alexander Going And Hill, Herefordshire.

‘It’s been a wonderful few days, catching cray fish in the river, building river art stone towers. These will be special memories. We will see you again soon’.

13.08.13. Neil, Nikki and Kerry Hiersay, England.

‘Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Wish we lived nearer.

18.08.23 – 22.08 13.

Andrew, Sarah, Jonathan and Joshua, Isle Of Mann.

‘An absolute picture of rural domestic bliss. Wonderful relaxing days within the grounds of La Chatouillette. Allan and Josie were wonderful hosts. Andrew managed to catch his first Carp, a 20 pounder, with a piece of bread as bait!

This is a special place with special people. We’ll be back.’

10/09/13 Bob Vale, England.

‘Fantastic day! Caught two Carp over 15 pounds, bettered my PB twice and then a 25 pounder! It gave a real fight.’ Phil Moseley, England. ‘Brilliant day – great fishing!’

11.09/13.

Both fisherman returned the next day. Bob … ‘Couldn’t get back quick enough. Another brilliant days fishing. The one that got away was a monster and broke my line. These waters are not only great sport there are some beautiful fish here, in the best condition I’ve seen.’

Phil … ‘Another great days fishing. My last catch was a 30 pound beauty. I’ll be back.’

27.10.12 – 03.11.12. The Brookes Family.

Sam has caught lots of fish so he is happy!

Lots of places to visit including the Zoo at Jurques and the museum at Utah beach. Also lovely walks at Fosse Arthur. We’ve had a great time.’

21.11.12. Maria Bello, Venice, CA, USA.

During my stay in France I was lucky enough to experience La Chatouillette. It is simply gorgeous. Perfect for entire family or special occasion. The cycling and walking around the ancient grounds is mind blowing.

If you like to fish, there are plenty of them that even I caught one. I can’t wait to go back. It is very private and low-key and really the perfect escape at the most reasonable costs. The owners happen to be my family

so I probably got the best discount of all. Spring, Summer and even the Autumn months are beautiful. Their site is easy to book and plan and beaches are close by. It is the place for relaxation; writing; healing;

painting; and generally reconnecting with ones self of loved ones. Plenty to do for all age groups.

‘Thank you for a joyful, restful time. Have loved being with you.’  ~ Enjoy! xM

November 2012. Clare, New York, NY. USA.

‘We loved the local food and being still for a moment.’

20.01.23. Peter and Joanna, The Lot, France.

‘We love the changes you’ve made at La Chatouillette – it’s a great spot!’

22.04.13 – 29.04.13. Eileen and Colin, Norwich UK.

‘Health recuperating thanks to loving and caring hosts.’

05.05.13 – 08.05.13. Gareth Brown, England, John Richards, Wales.

Great days fishing – new PB!’

11.05.13 – 18.05.13. Malcolm and Jackie. Tom and Maureen. England.

‘Our second time! Fishing excellent, the men  are very happy, the ladies enjoying relaxing. Thanks to our hosts for making us so welcome.’

18.05.13 – 22.05.03. Liz and Dave, Sydney Australia.

‘It was really the highlight of our trip visiting you in France. We’d love to come again.’

18.05.13 – 23.05.13. Cathy and Mike, PMB,  South Africa.

‘Wonderful warm welcome. Such a happy time. A great new experience catching Carp on dry fly (DDT and Beetle). Great local food and wonderful places to see.’

May 2013. James and Anona, Lisburn, N.Ireland.

‘Had a great time with wonderful company. Good fishing was a bonus.’

25.05.13 – 31.05.13. Gill, Kevin and Stephen. Basingstoke, Hampshire, England.

‘We’ve had a wonderful time and Stephen has loved helping Granddad fishing and walking around the beautiful lake. He touched a fish for the first time!

Kev has tried for years to get me on a fishing trip. We’ll be back, as I’ve all the home comforts. Also lots of places I would like to visit. Thank you for being great hosts.’

01.06.13 – 08. 06.13. Paula and Gary Parker, Ashford, Kent, UK’

‘We knew we’d have a lovely holiday but had no idea how special La Chatouillette would be. We’ve scarcely moved further than lake-side all week. Gary so enjoyed the fishing and surprisingly, so have I!

Can’t wait to  come back later this year for more peace and relaxation. In five days fishing caught 87 fish weighing a total of 858 lbs. Thank  you Allan and Josie for sharing such a magical environment with us.’M

08.06.13 – 15.06.13. Chris and Pete Rees, Rutland U.K.

‘Thank you for a most welcoming and enjoyable holiday. You have a beautiful place – good of you to share it! We had a wonderful time with our French friends.’ Merci beaucoup pour votre accueil. Nous aurons plaisir a revenir dans ce charmant endroit.’ Roland et Marie Claude.

20.06.13. Rachel et Benoit, Brittany, France.

‘Merci Allan et Josie. A Bientot!’

‘Carp weren’t fussy about hookbait. Simple blowback hook link and bait rig. Bigger hook, 6, picked out the larger fish. Zimm halibut pellets worked a treat.’

EARLIER GUEST QUOTES:

All head over heals in love with La Chatouillette, its better than anywhere.’  J Rutherford age 7.

A breathtakingly beautiful place. The Rutherford family,  The Midlands, UK)

“We have very good memories of La Chatouillette and enjoyed our holidays.  It is a very nice and peaceful part of France.”

“The area is fantastic, and the Gite is nicely situated in an area of outstanding beauty. We really had a great time when we were there in June.”

‘What a wonderful stay. I enjoyed every minute of it and your wonderful hospitality.’ Rosemary Agnew (Worcestershire, UK)

‘This is such a special place. Thank you for your warm welcome and hospitality.’ Hugh, Marab, Helena and Cameron. (Worcestershire England.)

‘Exquisite place with real Soul, Children enjoyed looking for treasure and the swing.’ Alasdair Sasha Daniel and Briar (Great Malvern)

“We have been regular attendees at La Chatouillette in June each year for a week of fishing for my husband and nothing much other than reading for me.”

“Your lake is very well stocked and it provides great sport. I enjoy the exclusivity and have bettered my PB twice at La Chatouillette.”

“I spend my days and sometimes nights fishing. My wife and daughter enjoy travelling around and visiting the area. It makes a lot of sense for us.”

‘La Chatouillette is a gorgeous ‘secret’ — the perfect very affordable getaway for the entire family as there is so much to do.  John loved the fishing,

I loved the walking and antiquing, and the children loved the hiking and bicycling.  We’ll be back.  Thank you.’  – Elizabeth and John S (Surrey).

‘Lake Chatouillette reminds me of parts of Nyanga, (Zimbabwe), just with more fish.  Really super week.  We’ll be back.’ – (RL, London)

‘Normandy is so easy to get to.  Fantastic rest stop at La Chatouillette.  A rustic chic “Gite” in the middle of forests, lakes and fields surrounded by fabulous antiques and food and wine.

Planning our return. Thank you.’  – Dick & Stephanie M. (New York)

 

‘The Gite – Excellent standard of accomodation, spacious, comfortable and clean with all ammenities required. The surroundings very peaceful and relaxing with pleasant views from the balcony.

The Fishing – Excellent fishing for one serious angler or the the occassional fishermen. Although not ‘easy’ the fishing is good enough to keep the most anglers happy (me certainly) in the expectation of a good fish.

I beat my old personal best several times. When not in pursuit of the monsters the rudd, tench and small carp will keep anybody busy on float tackle, virtually a fish a chuck. For it’s size the ‘lake’ holds a good head of large fish’.  – M. Lewis-Burd (Wales)

‘Another super holiday at La Chatouillette, gets even better every time, lovely hosts, excellent accommodation, local rolling countryside is a treat, fishing is heaven, Thank you for another great holiday.’ – Dave & Ellen Davies (Dover, Kent)

‘Just a note from Jenny and Pete Meadows who were with you in June to say a big thank you for the lovely setting and relaxing time you provided us with. We will be looking to see when the school holidays are next year and booking again to avoid them!

Caught 60 fish and a new PB of over 30lb.’  P. Meadows (Hampshire)

 

‘A wonderful week, the Gite is lovely, clean and well appointed. You seem to have thought of everything. Fishing Amazing! It’s been out of this world. The fish are in immaculate condition.

The catfish remains elusive but it certainly won’t be the next time!’  Bill, Helen, Rose(Berkshire)

‘Thank you for a fantastic holiday ,the fishing was excellent – more than Rod has ever caught. Thank you Allan and Josie for your hospitality and friendship.’ The Swan family

‘We had a lovely week very relaxing. The Gite is lovely and the fishing was great. Beautiful setting.’ Jeff and Kim and the boy’s

‘Thank you for a lovely week, very relaxing. We love the Gite. Had good weather and  caught over  180 fish in a week!’  Gareth, Debbie Matthew and Darren

‘We all had a wonderful week. Mal caught his dream fish. Your hospitality greatly added to our pleasure.’  M&T Woollard and J&M Scales

‘You have created an amazing retreat here and we so look forward to coming again.’ Heath Deirdre and Keira Davies

‘We appreciated your complementary Normandy Apple cider. You’ve such wonderful woodland, natural gardens and interesting birds.  Best Gite we’ve experienced. We’ll be back.’  M and B Slater-Brown, UK.

IMG_3331

”We recently visited La Chatouillette and simply L O V E D it. A quiet escape in an ancient world. Normandy is stunning. Children  loved it.’  M.B

‘Many thanks for a super weeks holiday. Your gite is by far the best we have found in 23 years of holidaying in France. If it is still free for Christmas 2006 we would like to book again with you.

Once again a big thank you!’  – Cliff, Jenny, Becky & Bett Nicholson (Essex)