Market Days and Public French Holidays

flipkey

 

Market days in ‘Next  Door Normandy’ are great fun and are enjoyed by tourists and locals alike. As you probably know, this is a wonderful opportunity to experience the rich and exciting French culture.

Be prepared to get up early, as markets open around 7.30 in the morning and close about  12 noon just in to time for lunch.

Some local markets  near to us.

Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet~Wednesday

A 20 minutes drive from La Chatouillette. It’s a lively market and meanders through the streets of this busy town. You’ll find a vast variety of  fresh regional produce on sale .

There are always bargains to be had and haggling within reason is quite a normal occurrence.

Flers-  Open Wednesdays. Thursdays and Saturdays.

La Ferté-Macé – Thursday. A small  market  with a variety of stalls.

Le teilleul –  Thursday . Another smaller market, set in the middle of the town

Vire –  Friday mornings. This is an interesting, buzzing market,  set around an old black and white building which fills the streets with atmosphere.

Sourdeval – Tuesdays. Another interesting but smaller market.

Villedieu-les-Poles – Tuesdays.  This town is known for its Copper pots, pans, so combining a market day gives you opportunity to alsobrowse in the shops.

13042012644

French Public Holidays. 2014 

Friday April 18  Good Friday

Monday  April  21 Easter Monday

Thursday May 1st  Labour Day

Thursday May 8  V-E Day

Thursday May 29  Ascension Day

Sunday June 8 Whit Sunday

Monday June 9  Whit Monday

Monday July 14 Bastille Day

Friday August 15   Assumption Day

Saturday 1 November  All Saints Day

Tuesday November 11 Armistice Day

Thursday 25 December  Christmas Day